For Information Call: (915) 533-BASE

El Paso, It's All Good
Southwest University Park


GECU Mexican Baseball Fiesta

GECU Mexican Baseball Fiesta June 24, 2015
Read More

GECU Mexican Baseball Fiesta Logos



The El Paso Chihuahuas, in conjunction with Leg Up Entertainment and GECU, present the GECU Mexican Baseball Fiesta to be held on September 25thand 26th at Southwest University Park. Game times are at 7:05 p.m. and 1:05 p.m., respectively. The Fiesta features two teams from Mexico, Los Naranjeros de Hermosillo and Los Águilas de Mexicali, members of the Pacific League of Mexico.

ABOUT THE FIESTA: The GECU Mexican Baseball Fiesta presented by Telemundo is a fun atmosphere similar to the league's regular season games with music, food, and entertainment.

The Mexican Baseball Fiesta debuted as a four team tournament in 2011 in Tucson, Ariz., an event that also featured Hermosillo. Building from the success of the previous three years, the Mexican Baseball Fiesta has grown throughout Arizona, Northern Mexico, and Texas. This year's action will include exhibition games in six cities and run through October, prior to the start of the season.

The Pacific League of Mexico was founded in 1945 and plays from October through February. The champion of the league, also referred to as the Winter League of Mexico, plays in the Caribbean World Series, a title taken home by the Naranjeros in February of this year.

Naranjeros de Hermosillo

Los Naranjeros are based in the Capital of Sonora. Los Naranjeros de Hermosillo are one of the most successful teams in the Mexican Pacific League, having won 16 league titles and are the recent winners of the Caribbean Series title, their second in league history. In 1976, they became the first Mexican team to win the Caribbean Series. Former Hermosillo players include Curt Schilling, Larry Walker, Fernando Valenzuela, Erubiel Durazo and Vinny Castilla.

Águilas de Mexicali

Located in Baja California, Los Águilas de Mexicali have won the championship three times (1986, 1989, and 1999). The team also won the 1986 Caribbean Series, played in Venezuela. Former players include Fernando Valenzuela and Mike Piazza as well as current San Francisco Giant and World Series Champion, Sergio Francisco Romo.